Follow St. Catherine of Genoa ~ St. Thérèse of Lisieux Catholic Academy

School History

This Academy is a combination of two long-established parish schools, St. Catherine of Genoa, located on Linden Boulevard, and St. Thérèse of Lisieux – Little Flower School, located on Avenue D. St. Catherine of Genoa School began in 1923 and St. Thérèse of Lisieux School began in 1941. This Academy comes into existence with a combined 158 years of Catholic education of excellence.

How we came to be one Academy at one site
Originally, St. Catherine of Genoa School and Little Flower School were going to be one Academy with two separate sites.

However, the study of the Catholic parishes in our Diocese revealed some serious concerns for the continuance of St. Catherine’s parish. This changed our original plan. If parishes close, we still need to provide Catholic education to the people in East Flatbush. It was decided that both schools would become one Academy at one site: 4410 Avenue D.

In order to make a smooth transition from two schools into one Academy, it was decided that the administration of both schools would be the administrators of the Academy. Parents and administrators had formed strong bonds over the years and having the same people to talk to made the transition easier for everyone.

Our Beginning and our Future
St. Catherine of Genoa ~ St. Thérèse of Lisieux Catholic Academy proudly opened its doors for the first time in September 2011. We are a rich blend of the best of the two parish schools. Our community is made up of experienced administrators, highly gifted teachers, students, and families from every Island of the Caribbean.

SCGSTL came into existence with the rich history of the two combined schools and, thanks to the Sisters of Mercy, a strong sense of the Mercy tradition. We are proud to say that the Sisters of Mercy have been present in our building, since 1941 when Little Flower School began.  The academy has strong Mercy ties to our aligned parishes. The Sisters of Mercy were present in St. Jerome’s School since it began in 1917 and in Our Lady of Refuge School since it began in 1967. Of all of the Diocesan schools and academies, we are unique in this aspect and proud to continue in the Mercy tradition.

We will strive to maintain and enrich our commitment to provide an enduring Catholic education for our students while we constantly work to enhance our long-standing record of academic excellence. To the best of our ability, we will foster your child’s spiritual, emotional, social, and academic growth.